Skip to content

off the beaten path

April 3, 2011

Spring time store fronts

Brunch at the Co-op

Fiona

Fridays are my days off from teaching. This past Friday, I had a routine appointment with the midwives downtown, so I biked to the clinic in the morning and then treated myself to brunch at the local co-op store. Decaf coffee, apricot and almost scone, and a half hour of R&R with my Kindle. The weather was beautiful – sunny and warm – so I just got on my bike and kept riding around for a bit.

Our downtown is comprised of one main street and the shops and restaurants lining it. It’s very manicured and put-together and always seasonally themed. So it’s kind of funny and unexpected to peak past the perfect facades and ride around the back of the buildings, where the exposed brick architecture coupled with the fire escapes and occasional graffiti give the space a much more rough and urban look. You’d never know you were in a safe little collage town looking at these alley shots, right? But then again, even small towns have their darker underbellies.

City 3

City 2

City 1

Who's Bumpy?

{who’s Bumpy??}

Blue Skies, Tiny Me

I love that getting around by bike lets me discover so much more of my corner of the world than walking or driving would. I don’t know that I would take the time to explore as much on foot, but biking is so quick that I can easily vear off my main route for a quick look around some side streets and hidden alleys. Places that I couldn’t easily access by car or bus. Reason #524 why I love cycling. ♥

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 18:55

    I wanted to know who Bumpy was also…funny thought! I love the yellow/purple combinations, just like the pansies that will soon be in bloom here in the east! Most importantly is I’m glad you took some time to put your own feet up, and have a snack while you read! You deserve it!

  2. April 4, 2011 17:55

    I agree, it’s so fun to go off the beaten path and explore via the bicycle and once in a while I come across and meet interesting people along the way too. Yesterday I came across these young men doing all sorts of tricks on their skate boards and bikes and they were nice enough to let me take their photos. It was a glorious day for bike riding.

  3. April 4, 2011 22:37

    Great photos! I went on a similar “adventure” this weekend. Amazing how much you miss when you limit how you get around and where you go!

  4. April 6, 2011 11:41

    I love those shots! It’s such an amazing feeling to know that you get to see things that most people, as they drive by on the other side of these buildings, DON’T get to see. When I lived in England, I used to take a lot of the alley shortcuts between my house and my neighborhood’s main drag/shopping area, and you learn so much from what you see in people’s backyards and alleys as you go through these secret little routes.

Trackbacks

  1. hanging up my running shoes « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

