Skip to content

bikes and sun on campus

April 12, 2011

Grass
Blue Skies
Raleigh Sports under a Tree

As the weather’s getting nicer, more and more students flock to the campus green to lay in the sun between classes, to toss a frisbee with friends, and to read or work on projects while enjoying the fresh air. I, too, find myself leaving my office and riding my bike to a quiet and sunny spot in the grass. Last week, I took my pile of grading and Fiona and joined the hordes of students out on the main quad. I made it a habit last summer to always carry a pinic blanket in my bike basket for precisely these kinds of impromptu breaks outdoors and I think it’s about time I revisit that tradition. I’m also really looking forward to riding to the lake again and laying out while reading.

Although I have to say, laying out has taken on a new meaning now that I’m about six months pregnant. I’m not allowed to lay on my back and lying on my stomach is out of the question…so I guess this summer’s activity will be more accurately described as ‘sitting out’. It’s all good though – baby, the bike and I are set to enjoy some lakeside relaxation as soon as the semester ends and I turn in final grades.

A Break from Grading Campus
7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 07:52

    I’ve had to read and grade so many research papers that this weekend I am rewarding myself with a little bike trip. My cousin and I will go out on our bikes the whole day.

  2. April 12, 2011 08:55

    That sounds wonderful and well deserved! By the way, what did you ever end up deciding about your vintage Raleigh? Did you keep it or trade it in?

  3. April 12, 2011 10:38

    Ah, I wish you could see how many bikes are on campus here at Portland State! Your mention of an end to the semester cheered me up immensely! ;) 8 more weeks… and you’ve got sunshine…woohoo! Happy Sitting Out!

  4. Andreea permalink
    April 12, 2011 10:56

    Nice pendant! <3

  5. April 12, 2011 11:40

    your fiona is the same color as my mary! don’t you just love naming your bike!

    xo,
    cb

  6. Daniel permalink
    April 13, 2011 15:26

    wundervolle einladende bilder :)…..deine kette ist sehr schoen;)

Leave a Reply

