Skip to content

rainy day commute

April 26, 2011

April showers bring May flowers

It’s been raining quite a bit lately, confirming that spring has arrived. Unless it’s really pouring, I still ride my bike. My helmet keeps my head and hair from getting too wet and an extra layer of removable clothing means that I can shed the wet clothes upon arrival and still look dry and somewhat presentable. Most of the time though, my strategy is to leave the house when it’s not coming down too hard, bike the 10 minutes to campus, and just get wet on the way home. That bothers me less since I can change once I get home.

While leaving my bike parked, I either use a plastic grocery bag to keep the seat dry or this handy saddle cover I picked up in Munich last summer. Now that it’s raining more often, I just keep the saddle cover in my bag at all times to use it when needed. It’s a little easier to use than a grocery bag since it’s fitted to the seat and has the elastic trim to keep it in place. On my last post on this matter, readers suggested using a shower cap for a similar effect – a great idea! How do you keep dry while cycling in the rain?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 09:32

    That seat cover is delightful! Cheery and efficient! I’ve only seen people use shower caps, or let their seats get wet. I avoid riding in the rain, unless I’m caught in it unexpectedly.

  2. afromedusa permalink
    April 26, 2011 10:36

    I was looking outside right now and it’s raining here too, and i have to ride back home in half an hour, so i’ll have to cycle in the rain! Luckily, i keep my bike dry inside the office, so i’ll just wet myself.

  3. April 26, 2011 11:03

    So glad you posted this. The weather has been especially crummy here in Arkansas, too. I usually just carpool with my husband on those days because the weather here can get a little rough.

  4. Mark permalink
    April 26, 2011 12:05

    With my fancy new-to-me but old Brooks saddle I’ve been pretty good about keeping a plastic bag double knotted around it when parked. It’s not as pretty, but it works. I’ll have to score one of yours this summer in Europe!

  5. April 26, 2011 12:31

    i love your saddle bag!!!!! i want a really cute one too but haven’t found one yet. the miser bought the boring brooks one…boo :(

    xo,
    cb

  6. April 26, 2011 16:33

    I use a plastic grocery bag on my seat also. I wear a bright orange Helly Hansen raincoat that I picked up for $20 new, only when its rainy though. I think it makes me look like a prison escapee.

  7. ACD permalink
    April 26, 2011 18:02

    I use a black plastic grocery bag on my Brooks saddle every time I lock it up: partly in case of surprise showers, but more as a theft deterrent. I’m concerned enough about saddle theft to worry about it, but can’t quite bring myself to use one of those saddle locks. I figure making it not immediately visible cuts the chances of theft way down.

  8. April 27, 2011 00:20

    I’m a shower-cap-user (yes, recommended!), water-repellant-trench-coat-wearer (stealthy and stylish), just-get-wet-if-I’m-headed-home-anyway (like you) kind of person. For heavier downpours on the way TO work, I’ve got a poncho. When you’re dry, there can be a lot of fun in riding in the rain — not to mention the amusing surprised looks from pedestrians who see that you aren’t scowling and actually seem to be *enjoying* the trip!

  9. April 27, 2011 01:54

    where did you get the bike seat cover?
    I like it!

  10. Maria permalink
    April 27, 2011 04:34

    That’s one really cute saddle bag…is it by Spiegelburg? Think I’ve seen those in stores over here but never bothered to buy one because it would probably be stolen anyways (yay, city I live in… ;().

    As for biking in the rain, I mostly use an umbrella & I’m pretty lucky because most bike stands at work have a little roof, so the bikes don’t get too wet.

Leave a Reply

