Skip to content

tania & christopher: bike dates around the country

May 5, 2011

This week’s date in our bike date series comes from Tania and Christopher in the Midwest. Tania, who is the author of What Would a Nerd Wear (a self-described bike riding bookwork with a penchant for great outfits) guest-blogged here before on the topic of  ‘What Woud a Nerd Wear on a Bike’ – tips for staying comfortable and stylish while cycling. She and Christopher are bike riding enthusiasts, who are no strangers to the concept of bike dates…


It sometimes seems to me that my relationship with Christopher has been one long bike date. The first big gift Christopher gave me was my Triumph 3-speed, a vintage English bicycle that he’d found battered and in pieces and restored from the ground up for me. The first big gift I gave him was a diamond-frame Peugeot–the male version of my beloved college mixte Peugeot.

My triumph with his trek on one of our many outings: IMG_3627

A few years later, he would facilitate the move of this Peugeot back to the Midwest, where he restored and rebuilt it for me to ride.

Shortly after the peugeot was rebuilt: Seven

Many of our first dates were by bicycle and nearly all of our holidays together have included a great bike date:

♥ In Acadia National Park in northern Maine:

DSC_0100

♥ Through San Francisco and across the Golden Gate Bridge:

Picnik collage

♥ Around the lakes on a trip to Madison, Wisconsin last summer:

IMG_5785

♥ And though our local parks when the leaves began to turn in the fall:

Picnik collage

While all of these dates have been special to me, I think it’s our daily bicycle date–our easy 2 mile route to campus together–which has become my favorite of all. It’s our chance every morning to breathe in the fresh air together, watch the leaves turn and the weather change, and catch up with one another. We ride together in the rain, on the crisp fall days, through the roasting humid days of summer and every day through the winter when we are so bundled in our balaclavas and hats that we can barely hear each other. Some of our best and sweetest conversations have been side by side on our bicycles on our daily route to campus.

♥ One of our daily rides this fall:
Picnik collage

Only by bicycle can a commute become a date. And I’m lucky enough to date the handsomest commuter on the road.

Thanks for asking me to guest post, S.! I bet you, T., and the future baby are going to have lots of great bike dates in the years to come. xo Tania

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 07:39

    That is a pretty bike!

  2. Charlotte permalink
    May 5, 2011 09:25

    Only on a bicycle (or walking) can a commute become a date – so true!
    My husband and I are working on setting just exactly that up again. In the meantime we had to be creative with our bike dates but oh, so worth it! (as your smiles in these photos attest)

  3. May 5, 2011 10:45

    thanks so much for having me, S.! this was such a fun post to write and i love this series. looking forward to more :)

    • May 5, 2011 18:48

      Thanks so much for contributing, Tania! You guys make a great cycling duo :)

  4. May 5, 2011 16:50

    Lovely post. I love that your daily commute together is a never ending date.

  5. May 5, 2011 20:19

    Aw, I love Tania and Christopher!

  6. afromedusa permalink
    May 6, 2011 02:59

    very nice! i love reading about bike dates in your blog :-)

  7. ACD permalink
    May 6, 2011 10:15

    What are those blue sandals you’re wearing in the shot where you’re standing behind the Peugeot?!!

  8. May 20, 2011 10:13

    that is super cute! I actually just finished running a pit stop for bike to work day in Reston VA (@restonpitstop on twitter). This will be the first bike blog that I follow :)

    I love seeing that people are out, enjoying bikes for fun and transportation! :)

  9. snw permalink
    May 20, 2011 18:17

    love that you’ve biked around my home sweet home, ACADIA! though the coastal island is not “northern” Maine by any stretch. :)

Leave a Reply

