Skip to content

happy mother’s day!

May 8, 2011

Bakfiets-cargobike-long-2008-2

{photo taken by henry in a’dam}

Happy Mother’s Day! ♥

I hope all you moms out there are spending an enjoyable day being loved and pampered by your family! This is my first Mother’s Day (even if the baby’s still in utero, it counts, right?) and T. and I have some fun plans for the afternoon. We’re taking the bikes and going on a little Mother’s Day bike date together, which I’m really looking forward to. My own mom is in Europe at this time, so I won’t be spending the day with her, but I’m thinking of her from afar.

Speaking of moms…what’s your favorite memory of you and your mom when you were a child? I love the above image captured by Henry of Bakfiets en Meer of a mom and her clearly delighted kids cycling through Amsterdam. I myself remember being carted around on a bike seat when I was younger (although, I think my dad did most of the biking with me on board). I hope to provide my kids with lots of fun adventures together, many of which will likely involve bikes and cycling, and I wonder how they’ll remember it all when they’re grown up.

In celebration of Mother’s Day, please leave a comment with your favorite memory of your mom. And then make sure to remember to call her and wish her a wonderful day today!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 07:32

    Yes, expecting your baby absolutely counts for you as a Mothers’ Day! Let T pamper you a little! And enjoy every moment of your bike date! Favorite memory with my mom would be hard to decide, but as I shared on my blog today, she never learned to ride a bike. The photo you used for today is AWESOME! Kudos to the photographer!

  2. May 8, 2011 12:32

    happy mamas’ day!! totally counts that your baby is still a fetus ;D have a great ride!!

    xo,
    cb

  3. May 8, 2011 15:57

    Oh I wish I were such a good photographer! The photo was actually taken by pro photographer and neighbor Martin van Welzen: http://www.martinvanwelzen.nl

    The mom and happy kids are for real though! Happy Mother’s Day.

    -Henry

  4. May 8, 2011 20:18

    My mother will be turning Eighty years old this year and what has always amazed me about my mother is the friendships she made with women from her home country, Azores, Sao Miguel. She will often meet up with someone she hasn’t seen for 35 years; and they will strike up a converstion and be laughing and talking like they had never been apart. It’s beautiful to see.

    I hope you enjoyed your first mother’s day!

Leave a Reply

