Skip to content

a double {bike} date in alberta, canada

May 12, 2011

This week’s bike date comes from ‘Miss Sarah’ in Alberta, Canada. She’s the voice behind the Girls and Bicycles blog, one of the first female authored bike blogs I came across when I started researching the possibility of cycling for everyday transportation. She’s been a huge inspiration to me and I’m thrilled to have her contribute to the bike date series…


What’s more fun than a bike date? A bike double date!

You know how dates are supposed to be when you dress up and go out with your special someone? Well, sometimes I like to do the opposite and it feels so relaxed and great to eat tons of delicious food in jeans and a t-shirt.

Our bike date pals were Dan and Leanne, both on Amsterdams.

bikedate2

We rode around Old Strathcona in Edmonton.

bikedate3

And locked up outside Dawaat, one of our regular southside haunts for Indian.

bikedate4

I suppose some may not consider it a date if your kid comes along. Dexter, however, is a wonderful dinner companion. He drinks mango lassi, eats heaps of chickpeas, and devours coconut naan by the fistful.

bikedate5

bikedate5.5
The pros to dinner by bike is that you get to ride alongside your friends and chat all the way home. Plus, pedaling around after a big meal is the perfect digestive activity!

I am in the habit of having lots of dates via bike with friends and with Don – they make me really happy.

Miss Sarah highly recommends bike dates and reading all about bike dates over at Simply Bike!

Thanks, Sarah, Don, Dexter, Dan, and Leanne! If you want to see more of Miss Sarah’s adventures by bike, check out her wonderful site and, if you’ve not yet seen this, watch this video! One of my favorites from Miss Sarah’s past posts is this little video she and her friends made on cycling in Edmonton. It makes me happy every time I see it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 10:04

    Oh my gosh, Dawaat is so delicious. One of the best lamb vindaloo I’ve EVER eaten.

  2. May 12, 2011 10:48

    how fun a double date!!! lamb anything is delicious!

    xo,
    cb

  3. May 12, 2011 14:23

    I like Dawaat because it’s in my Strathcona ‘hood, and there is always space!

    Thanks S, for the kind words. I’m so happy that there are more bike girls out there with bike blog. It used to be kinda lonely.

    There is going to be a new video done up this summer. Better production value, and unfortunately without the heavy “lactation” bosoms from the two-wheeled adventures:)

    Stay tuned!

    S*

  4. July 31, 2016 12:51

    Awesome :)

Leave a Reply

