Skip to content

foto friday: first lake outing of the summer

May 13, 2011

First lake outing of the summer

First lake outing of the summer

First lake outing of the summer No Dogs No Glass

First lake outing of the summer

We have a few little lakes around here and, come summer, they’re buzzing with people and dogs. This week we hit our first 90 F day and I thought I’d beat the crowd to the lake by going on on a weekday and early on in the day. I knew I could find some shade and look over the water while laying out and intermittently reading my book. Unfortunately, T. has no such luxury of summer days off since he works in a lab, so I packed my things and headed out for the lake by myself. Well, I wasn’t alone once I got there. Apparently, everyone in town had the same idea on that first hot day and the lake side ‘beach’ was packed. Kids, dogs, adults, college students… everyone was out to play.

Fortunately, most people were looking to get some sun, so I had my desired spot in the shade. I debut my maternity swim suit, read my book on childbirthing, people watched, and soaked in the fresh air and sun. It felt wonderful.

The outdoor city pool hasn’t opened for summer yet and once it does, it’s likely that the lake might quiet down a bit. Although I prefer the serenity that comes with looking at a natural body of water surrounded by foliage and trees, I think I might opt for the pool because it’s within bikeable distance from me (an ever shrinking radius these days) and I’d much prefer to soak up the sun and excercise on my way there than drive a couple of miles outside of town on unpaved gravel roads for each trip to the water (although I’m not ruling it out completely, since there is something so wonderful about a lake that no pool can replicate).

See? I’m finding more and more things I appreciate about this small, rural area of mine. Lovely lakes, a recently built outdoor city pool, the world’s largest concrete garden gnome, access to paved bike trails and one of the world’s largest pedestrian bridges – (we’re all about setting records here) – and a kickass dollar theater. I have a feeling that this summer is going to be good. Happy Friday, everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 07:54

    Oh, I love that book! It’s comforting in so many ways. One of my favorite parts is the frequent mention that if our bodies were not naturally made to have children, there wouldn’t be so many people in the world today. :)

    As a fellow graduate student having a baby in New England, I’ve been a fan of your blog and academichic for awhile now. I don’t know if you’ve seen this, but I found it when I was looking for onesies on etsy the other day.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/68565468/a-basket-full-of-posies-and-a-ride-to?ref=sr_list_22&ga_search_type=all&ga_includes%5B0%5D=tags&ga_search_query=onesie+bike&ga_view_type=list&ga_page=1&ga_ref=related&ga_facet=

  2. May 13, 2011 11:21

    Honestly, what more could you need? After reading this post I feel like I need to find a lake stat! It looks so dreamy and perfect for the warm weather.

  3. May 13, 2011 14:14

    oh wow 90 degrees! spread some of that over there please :D oh the beach sounds great! we have a man made little swimming hole by use and it is so great! i can’t wait till it opens which should be anytime now!

    xo,
    cb

  4. May 14, 2011 08:26

    Your photos are so peaceful and beautiful, I can envision myself right there through your pics! Lovely. Is the picture of you a self portrait a-la panda? It’s a cool shot! And when the weather is too warm for you, or the ride to strenuous with Little S growing, a movie in the a/c in the daytime could be a perfect ride as well! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

