Skip to content

happy birthday to my best friend today!

May 21, 2011

Kiss
Lake side fun

Happy birthday, T.! Today, my husband celebrates another birthday and I celebrate another year of having him in my life. A little blog post cannot express how much he means to me or how happy he makes me but I will try to communicate some of that anyway.

The past six+ years that we’ve shared together have been the best. We’ve learned to read each other’s moods and whims, to support each other through life’s challenges, to be each other’s biggest fan, and – when necessary – most honest (yet kind) critic.

Canoeing and camping in MN

T, you’ve introduced me to camping and have made a life long fan of it out of me. You’re the reason I got back on a bike as an adult and you’re the one who convinced me to sign up for a day of riding 70 miles despite my trepidations (which I then loved and can’t wait to do again!). You’re always encouraging me to step outside my comfort zone and cheering me on to do things I didn’t think I could do.

Rest stop at RAGBRAI 2010

You’ve baked me a cake on every birthday since we’ve met, your creations getting more elaborate and delicious with each passing year.

Birthday cake creations

And you’ve traveled to Europe with me and met my family in Romania, learning to speak to my grandparents in their native tongue, embracing the culture I grew up in, and making me feel like you had been there all along.

Sightseeing in Cluj, Romania
I hope that I can make you feel as special today on your birthday (and every day) as you make me feel ever since we met. Happy birthday, my best friend and dear partner in life! ♥

Grand Tetons National Park

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2011 07:38

    What a beautiful tribute! Hope you both have a wonderful day celebrating!

  2. Alisha permalink
    May 21, 2011 09:23

    I love the bond that you and your hubby share. :)

  3. May 21, 2011 11:46

    How sweet! Hope T’s birthday is very enjoyable and that you share continued fun memories together.

  4. Mark L. permalink
    May 21, 2011 12:11

    Happy Birthday, T! I want some of that cake.

  5. May 21, 2011 12:18

    You are so sweet!

  6. May 21, 2011 13:57

    What a lovely tribute to your husband on his birthday! I can’t wait to do my go out on long distance ride someday. I haven’t gone much more than 20 miles at a time & would love to participate in an organized (but casual) ride.

  7. May 22, 2011 07:04

    What a wonderful companion, soul mate, and future husband to be. Give him a kiss for me.

  8. May 22, 2011 08:53

    What a sweet post! Happy birthday to T!

  9. May 22, 2011 12:19

    Such a sweet and lovely post for T! Your happiness together shows in every picture. Here’s to many more birthdays and celebrations together.

  10. May 22, 2011 13:24

    happy belated birthday to your hubby and best friend! hope he had a great day!! my mister is also my best friend and i LOVE it!! yayayayayay!
    xo,
    cb

  11. May 23, 2011 12:21

    Happy Birthday! I feel the same way about Don (more or less, alter some of the details). It’s even better now that we have Dexter and I can see that he takes after Don in behaviour – it makes me happy and proud!

    S*

  12. May 24, 2011 23:19

    Aw, happy birthday, T!

  13. Andreea permalink
    May 28, 2011 18:05

    Happy Birthday, T. :) Best wishes from Romania!

Leave a Reply

