Skip to content

wendi and courtney: bike date in the dallas arts district

June 2, 2011

This week’s bike date  in our Bike Date Series comes from Wendi of Knotted Tales. Wendi’s a museum development manager by day and grad student by night, but despite her busy schedule, she  still finds the time to work in bike dates with friends on the weekends. Here she takes us along as she and her friend Courtney explore the Dallas Arts District  in downtown Dallas. Thanks for the insight into what your city has to offer, Wendi! Now I know where to go if I’m ever in Dallas! …

Everyone has a bike story, mine is rather unique. I love riding my bike and I always have! I stopped riding for several years, but that is a story for another day.  This story is about May 15th otherwise known as Wendi & Courtney’s Great Bike Adventure.

DSC_0190
DSC_0188
DSC_0184

We decided to meet in the Dallas Arts District, where we both work. The D.A.D. one of the largest arts districts and we are very proud to call it our home. Neither one of us actually have the opportunity to bike to work so we planned this adventure. I live over an hour away, while she’s about 15 minutes away so riding is not optional. While she could ride to work, it’s not completely safe, as she would have to cross some pretty heavy streets. While Dallas does boast some amazing bike friendly areas her ride wouldn’t be safe.

We met at the Dallas Museum of Art and rode our bikes to the Winspear Opera house. After the D.A.D., we rode to Deep Ellum* to the orange, red, yellow wall. This wall can be scene from many of the towering office towers that create Downtown Dallas. Once we reached this wall, we learned the mural, Tonatiuh, is by Daniel Munoz.

At some point during our photograph/bike adventure we realized we were starving! We headed to Uptown to our favorite pub, Idle Rich. On the way to lunch other riders passed us. They told us we needed to be more careful by wearing helmets. We took the long way to lunch so that we missed a major street – at least we did one thing safely.

DSC_0117

DSC_0131

DSC_0146

DSC_0069

After lunch, we went back to D.A.D then rode all through Downtown Dallas. We went to the old red brick house, passed the grassy knoll to the first Neiman Marcus; we took another break at the Main Street Garden. After ice tea (we are in Texas) and frozen yogurt we played in tot land. Which was a amazing – it was nice being a child.

IMG_3348 IMG_3350
IMG_3338 IMG_3346
IMG_3333 IMG_3334

I went into a lot of detail, because this was such a great day. I now plan on having at least one daylong bike adventure like this each month. Hopefully, they will involve other friends but I can have bike adventures all by myself. All my photos can be found on my flickr feed.  Finally, I leave you with dear diary – inspired by my mini diary  from mini mart created Marta Danise.

dear diary
today – May 15, 2011
i love the smell of – roses, idle rich frites
i love the sound of  – bike bells and Rolling in the Deep by Adele
i love the taste of – warm goat cheese salads
i love sigh of – silver statue birds, Big D, and the Dallas Arts District
I love the feel of – sunshine! Cotton on my skin


DSC_0071

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 11:01

    That looks like so much fun! I love the art date.

    BTW…I NEED those pink shoes!

  2. June 2, 2011 17:48

    Hi Kara – I have a small collection of pink shoes. Sperry has new pink shoes each season.

  3. June 2, 2011 22:59

    what a great girl buddy bike date! makes me wish i had more lady bike buddies!!

    xo,
    cb

  4. June 3, 2011 15:10

    What a fun friend date, and interesting pics to share! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. to helmet or not | Knotted Tales

Leave a Reply

