Skip to content

over the weekend: bike ride to summerfest

June 13, 2011

Bike ride to Summerfest

Bike ride to Summerfest 33 week baby belly

After spending our Saturday morning cleaning and doing house chores, T. and I hopped on our bikes and rode over to the ‘summerfest’ in town. We took a leisurely 1.5 mile ride to get there, mostly through backroads and neighborhoods, and then parked our bikes and walked around the event.

T. rode his gorgeous blue Bianchi and I managed to carry this ever expanding belly on my Raleigh Sports (amen for upright seating at this stage of the pregnancy!).

We ended up running into friends there, which was wonderful. We even found a little ‘beer garden’ set up where T. was able to enjoy a beer while I simply enjoyed my Jimmy Johns sandwhich. At first, our friends had some trouble getting into the beer garden with us because their 6 months old baby is not yet (obviously) 21 years old and ‘of age’. But a quick phone call to the local police department set matters straight and we were all able to grab a table and enjoy the live music over a cold one (well, all of us minus me and said trouble making baby). After a good couple of hours, we picked up our bikes and rode back home with full bellies and sunburned cheeks.

Summerfest

Summerfest Bike ride to Summerfest

Our local summerfest wasn’t by any means the large and exciting music festival that Milwaukee has to offer but it was still a nice way to get out of the house, enjoy a quick bike ride, and spend time with some friends on a Saturday afternoon. And as I wrote in a recent post, I’m trying to actively seek out the things that my small town has to offer in order to make the most of my time here rather than wishing I were somewhere else. So far, it’s been a good summer with new friends made at prenatal yoga, bike dates with old friends, and weekends spent at local events in the community. This is definitely not as dismal of a situation as I talked myself into believing when I first moved here with lots of ideas and assumptions about what I needed in order to fall in love with a place. Increasingly those ideas have given way to an understanding that I mostly just need good people around me. It’s people that will make a place a home.

How did you spend your weekend?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 09:59

    I started my weekend helping cleanup the debris left over from extreme lake flooding on an elderly couple’s property along the bike path. Then I helped paint the newly renovated bathroom at our camp. Other than pedaling to hardware store for paint, I watched rain showers fall all weekend long.

  2. June 13, 2011 11:20

    Friday we threw Trina a big dinner party for her birthday, with about a 5 course meal for 12 people (http://www.flickr.com/photos/poetas/sets/72157626815988073/) :) Super fun, but boy did we do a lot of cooking all week :)

    Then Saturday Trina worked at the tea shop in our neighborhood (she’s interning) and I pulled the rear wheel off our Raleigh Roadster (http://www.flickr.com/photos/poetas/5593956001/) for the first time in order to sand some rust off the back side of the chain case and re-paint it, then spent most of the rest of the day figuring out how to get it all back together properly :)

    Sunday we rode over to a friend’s house to help dig up a garden plot in his backyard, and then had Chinese food feast for dinner, and plopped on the couch and zoned out watching anime most of the evening (http://portlandize.com/2011/06/out-and-about/) :)

  3. June 13, 2011 12:41

    Not a bike date, but a walking date :-) Had a lovely picnic in the beautiful Cheshire countryside and a walk arm in arm through the meadows and woods. Perfect.

  4. Jessica permalink
    June 13, 2011 13:28

    We bailed on our small-town life to move to Houston, and my bike and I are really missing it about now. This city is unexpectedly wonderful, with good museums, restaurants, nice people, etc. But my goodness the biking is bad! We went to the local multi-use trail this weekend, and it was terrifying. I had to write a long blog entry about it just to get it out of my system. Love those small-town bike rides while you have them!

  5. June 13, 2011 13:44

    Your blog continues to apply to my life in new and unexpected ways! First, it was your inspiring me to bike while pregnant, and now it is your determination to explore and appreciate all that your small town has to offer (especially via bike). It looks like my growing family will move to a VERY small, rural PA town by the end of summer. While I will miss the joys of a mid-sized city, I want to make the most of our small town that will be our new home. Thank you for the encouragement!

  6. ACD permalink
    June 13, 2011 19:07

    At first, our friends had some trouble getting into the beer garden with us because their 6 months old baby is not yet (obviously) 21 years old and ‘of age’.

    Oh but this makes me angry. It sounds petty, but I find that the inability to walk down the street with a beer in hand truly degrades public life in the U.S.

  7. June 13, 2011 21:42

    sounds like a great day and a nice leisurely bike ride! i wish we had something like that here but haven’t found a nice little fair here yet!

    xo,
    cb

  8. June 14, 2011 04:02

    What a gorgeous final paragraph! :)

Leave a Reply

