Skip to content

over the weekend: our beautiful backyard baby shower

June 21, 2011

At our baby shower

We spent the past weekend relishing the company of our family and friends (especially those out-of-towners, who we don’t get to see as often) and celebrating the upcoming arrival of baby C. Three good friends of ours collaborated on throwing us an amazing backyard baby shower held at our friend H’s house. On the schedule: plenty of great food, cute kids, drinks, flowers, beautiful home-made gifts (so many! so awesome!), and so much to be thankful for on our part. T. and I were blown away by the thoughtfulness and generosity of it all.

Baby shower

Baby shower

The hostesses

{the three lovely co-hostesses}

Cuties Cuties

The tiniest shower guest

{some of the tiniest guests in attendance}

Bike onesies

{our friends know us well! we got some awesome bike onesies and bike themed baby stuff that we just love}

Diaper cake almost 35 weeks pregnant

{our diaper cake topped with a fuchsia and orange hat knit by H., using some of my favorite colors, if you can’t tell from my outfit, and me at almost 35 weeks…getting close}

Group bike ride

{group bike ride to lunch the next day}

The day after the shower, my parents had to leave but the rest of our out-of-towners stayed for another day. Since it was sunny and warm out, we outfitted everyone with bikes and biked to lunch at a local cafe. But more on that tomorrow. For now, I’m enjoying the post-weekend high of having seen so many wonderful people in one place, having received so many lovely things for baby C., and having once again realized how lucky we are to have some really great friends and family members in our lives. Baby C. is one lucky lady to be joining this group ♥

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 14:14

    Looks like you had a great party! What fun!

    I love your dress; you look radiant.

    I wish you continued good health! Baby C is just around the bend. :D

  2. June 21, 2011 14:17

    What a lovely shower! This is almost exactly how I would love to have mine, too :) My mother-in-law has other ideas, so I guess I’ll let her run with it. But sounds like a blast, and I LOVE that dress so much I can’t even explain. I’ve seen it on you several times . . . and I so badly wish it wasn’t a thrift find. However, it makes it even cooler that it is :) Won’t be long now!

    • Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
      June 21, 2011 16:28

      My MIL hosted something similar for us two weekends ago: small, casual, mostly family. While you don’t want to turn into a mom-zilla if someone is hosting a shower for you, it is worth it to make your preferences known.

      We loved keeping the focus on people and relationships more than on gifts and shower games. We also received some very thoughtful gifts, though none were bike-related, I’m sorry to say!

  3. June 21, 2011 19:07

    You’re looking wonderful and what a good looking group of cycling friends!

  4. June 21, 2011 22:06

    I love that diaper cake!!

    • June 22, 2011 08:43

      I was gonna say exactly the same ;D

      • June 22, 2011 10:01

        The diaper cake was awesome indeed! I think my friend H. just looked up online how to make one and then used the knitted hat she made as a topper. Brilliant :)

  5. June 22, 2011 04:28

    Wish we could have been there!

    • June 22, 2011 08:10

      Mark, I know! I wish you and V. could have been here too, but I’m sure that Berlin is proving even more exciting than a baby shower :)

  6. Andreea permalink
    June 23, 2011 03:36

    so lovely!

Trackbacks

  1. » 23 June 2011 – Dressing My Best academichic

Leave a Reply

